Sheffield Speedway Results 2007

TOP GUN Championship - sponsored by Ozchem, Easy Oil & Specialized Aerosols

Owlerton Stadium

12th July

Ref: Peter Clarke 0102030405060708091011121314 151617181920Tot Posn.

  1. Ben Hopwood

ef - - - - 0 17th

  2. Scott Anderson

1 0 ef 1 2 4 12th

  3. Shane Waldron

3 1 1 1 2 8 8th

  4. Karlis Ezergalis

2 2 r 0 1 5 11th

  5. James Cockle

2 3 3 3 3 14 3rd

  6. Joe Haines

0 1 3 1 f 5 10th

  7. Byron Bekker

1 2 2 3 0 8 7th

  8. Adam Roynon

3 3 3 2 3 14 1ST

  9. Greg Blair

3 ef 0 3 3 9 5th

10. David Speight

2 3 1 2 1 9 6th

11. Garry Flint

 ef 0 2 0 0 2 14th

12. Adam Chandler

1 ef ef 0 1 2 16th

13. Simon Lambert

3 2 3 3 3 14 2nd

14. Scott Richardson

 0 2 2 2 2 8 9th

15. Jack Roberts

 2 3 2 2 2 11 4th

16. Ben Taylor

1 1 1 0 1 4 13th

Andrew Blackburn (r)

1 0 1 0 2 15th
Junior track record
62.0 Richard Hall
010203040506 070809 10111213141516 17181920
65.161.864.564.762.3 62.164.662.762.764.8 64.561.964.164.265.4

Semi-final FINAL
Simon Lambert1st Adam Roynon1ST
Jack Roberts2nd James Cockle3rd
Greg Blair3rd Simon Lambert2nd
David Speight4th Jack Roberts4th

In contrast to previous Top Gun meetings this was a curiously muted meeting with little by way of passing, or even controversy. Shane Waldron won the first heat from gate 3 with Ben Hopwood not even reaching the first bend. The two pre-meeting favourites met in heat 2 with Adam Roynon leaving James Cockle trailing after a blistering start and lowering Richard Hall's three year-old junior lap record in the process. Greg Blair trapped to lead heat 3 and even experienced David Speight had no reply. Boston's Simon Lambert won heat 4 heading home Buxton's Jack Roberts.

James Cockle bounced back by passing Simon Lambert on the second turn on his way to his quickest ever win at Sheffield. David Speight won heat 6 from Scott Richardson and a struggling Joe Haines, and Jack Roberts outpaced Byron Bekker and Shane Waldron on his way to winning heat 7. Adam Roynon romped home ahead of Karlis Ezergalis to win heat 8 leaving him the only unbeaten rider.

Joe Haines got himself sorted out and won heat 9 in the third fastest time of the night ahead of a revitalized Garry Flint. Only two finishers in heat 10, James Cockle ahead of Jack Roberts. Adam Roynon maintained his unbeaten status in heat 11 in another fast time, and Simon Lambert kept the pressure on with a win in heat 12 with Byron Bekker second after passing Karlis Ezergalis on the first lap, and then rounding David Speight on the last bend.

Byron was out again in the next race which he won comfortably from Scott Richardson. Simon Lambert became the first rider to beat Adam Roynon in heat 14, and James Cockle joined the pair on 11 points by winning heat 15. Greg Blair shrugged off his machine gremlins winning heat 16 from Jack Roberts although Joe Haines was all set for a great move around the outside of the last bend until he lost a chain.

Adam Roynon booked his place in the final with a win in heat 17 in a time just outside his own track record. Jack Roberts' second place booked him a place in the semi-final, but David Speight was left sweating on 9 points. Byron Bekker looked like another candidate for the semi-final until he reared at the gate in heat 18 and threw his bike down the track. He jumped quickly back on but sadly was too far adrift to make up the lost ground. Greg Blair's win meant he leap frogged Byron into the semi-final. Simon Lambert won heat 19 to leave him on 14 points but Shane Waldron's second place wasn't quite enough. Joe Haines' meeting concluded with a fall as he tried to battle through the field. James Cockle won heat 20 to also finish on 14 points and it's James and Adam who go straight to the final by virtue of the fastest winning times.

Simon Lambert is the unlucky one who has to contest the semi-final, but he wins it in fine style from Jack Roberts and Greg Blair. Adam Roynon makes no mistake to win the final but is pushed all the way home by Simon Lambert with James Cockle joining them on the rostrum.

S*T*A*R*S members voted Joe Haines their 'Rider of the Night', and Ben Taylor earned the respect of the crowd as he generously donated his prize money to the Garry Stead Appeal.

Return to Sheffield Speedway fixtures and results
Return to Sheffield Speedway homepage